Weekly Policy Update: Prescription Drug Importation and CBSA’s Day at the Capitol

Friday, February 01, 2019


Weekly Policy Update: Colorado Bioscience Championed in Denver Business Journal

Friday, January 25, 2019


Weekly Policy Update: Importing Drugs and the Governor's Budget

Friday, January 18, 2019


Weekly Policy Update: New General Assembly, Inauguration, and Bill Introductions

Friday, January 11, 2019


Weekly Policy Update: CBSA’s Policy Priorities for 2019

Friday, January 04, 2019


Colorado Bioscience Companies Raised $1 Billion in 2018

Thursday, December 27, 2018

International Investors Contributed to the State’s Largest Financings 
Continue Reading

Weekly Policy Update: More Medical Device Tax News and the 2018 Farm Bill

Friday, December 14, 2018

The House Ways and Means Committee this week released a new extenders package which included a 5-year extension on the medical device excise tax moratorium. The 2.3% levy on the sale of prescribed medical devices was in effect between 2012 and 2014 after it was enacted through the Affordable Care Act in 2010, but the pushback from industry has led to several moratoriums. It received a 2-year delay extension earlier this year as part of a continuing resolution.Under the new relief bill, the 2018 moratorium on the device tax would be extended until 31 December 2024.  

Weekly Policy Update: Protecting Medicare Beneficiaries and Medical Device Tax Work

Thursday, December 06, 2018

A recent proposal by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) would implement an unprecedented Part B demo that could harm Medicare beneficiaries. We believe this would alter the entire reimbursement structure for providers in Part B and ultimately restrict access and limit drug options ultimately effecting the patient and physician. Further, the proposal could significantly impact the Part B program which will affect drugs that are directly administered by doctors and treat a broad range of serious and critical diseases like cancers and other rare or chronic illnesses. These changes can and will have a serious impact on patients’ quality of life. They will also affect the access to care on which so many seniors and individuals with disabilities depend.  

Weekly Policy Update: November Recap

Friday, November 30, 2018

The November Focus newsletter was published this afternoon with Jennifer’s recap of the full month in policy news.  

Weekly Policy Update: Leadership Elections in the Colorado General Assembly

Friday, November 16, 2018

With final certification of ballots by the Secretary of State the final tally for the Democrats in the House is 41, leaving Republicans with only 24 seats. Democrats in the Senate hold the majority by three votes with 19 members. Republicans have 16 seats in the Senate.

The next step as The Colorado General Assembly prepares for the upcoming legislative session which begins on January 4th are the leadership elections. The elections took place last week and here are the results:

Notable House Seats:

  • Colorado’s House majority leader,Rep. KC Becker (D) of Boulder, was elected Speaker of the House
  • Rep. Alec Garnett (D) of Denver will replace Becker as majority leader.
  • Rep. Chris Kennedy(D) of Jefferson County was selected assistant majority leader
  • Rep. Edie Hooten(D) of Boulder County was named democrat caucus chair.
  • Rep. Patrick Neville (R) of Douglas County remains minority leader.
  • Rep. Kevin Van Winkle (R) of Highlands Ranch was chosen assistant minority leader.
  • Rep. Lori Saine (R) of Firestone becomes GOP caucus chair

Notable Senate Seats:

  • Sen. Chris Holbert (R) of Douglas County was elected Senate minority leader.
  • Sen. John Cooke(R) of Greeley was elected assistant minority leader
  • Sen. Vicki Marble (R) of Fort Collins as GOP caucus chair.
  • Sen. Leroy Garcia (D) of Pueblo will serve as president of a Colorado Senate.
  • Sen. Lois Court (D) of Arapahoe County was named president pro-tem.
  • Sen. Steve Fenberg (D) of Boulder County was elected majority leader
  • Sen.-elect Faith Winter (D) of Westminster was elected caucus chair
Continue Reading